Cruise Control for Cool

bd3

It is said that Caps Lock is cruise control for cool. Today, for a short while,
it actually was cruise control.

Posterity will determine the degree of cool.

I use the chrome browser with vimium which allows me to use the j and k keys to
scroll up and down.

In my ongoing effort to improve my text editing and coding, I changed my caps
lock key to a control key. Windows 7 Registry modification below :

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]
"Scancode Map"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,1d,00,3a,00,00,00,00,00

(Requires reboot)

As I was getting acclimated to the new control, (non-trivial, by the way…)
I realized that my browser was stuck scrolling.

I tapped j and the page scrolled smoothly and continuously to the bottom. Then
I tapped k, and the page scrolled smoothly and continuously to the top. I could
tap the keys back and forth to change direction, but never stop in the middle
when I released either key.

Calling my coworker over to look, she asked if my caps lock key was on.
Technically, it wasn’t, since it was a control key now, and the light never even
came on. Yet vimium was clearly reading it, because pressing it stopped the
activity.

While I haven’t been able to reproduce it since, for a brief, shining moment,
caps lock really was cruise control for cool.

© Copyright applies, details in sidebar

Cruise Control for Cool

Leave a Reply

